Trump Announces 30-Day Air Travel Ban From Europe to U.S.

As the Coronavirus (COVID-19) officially enters pandemic status this week, President Trump announced a 30-day ban on all passenger air travel from Europe to the U.S. beginning Friday, March 13th at 11:59 PM (EDT).

According to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS), any foreign nationals traveling within or from the 26 European states that comprise the Schengen Area within 14-days of their scheduled arrival to the U.S. will be denied entry.

The restricted countries include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. 

The ban does not include passengers traveling from the United Kingdom (UK).

DHS officials will issue additional notices requiring any U.S. passengers traveling through restricted areas to undergo enhanced screening procedures at select U.S. airports upon arrival.

Although Trump’s announcement initially applied to both people and goods, he later clarified via Twitter that “trade will in no way be affected…the restriction stops people, not goods”. Regardless, airfreight customers should prepare for supply chain disruptions in wake of the impending flight cancellations, though there have not been any official updates from the airlines.

Click here to view the official Presidential Proclamation issued on March 11th.

Shapiro will continue to monitor the situation and provide updates as they become available.

Shap Talk

  • Shap Talk Cover 4
  • Shap Talk Cover 1
  • Shap Talk Cover 3
Learn More »